Calling All Monster Readers!

Meet the Author presents a spectacular year of books, fun, and visits by some of the most respected children’s book authors and illustrators working today!

Buy your book bundle now. Questions? Email: meettheauthor@ps118pta.org

Author

Last April, our Meet the Author program went fully digital for the first time. Brendan Wenzel, winner of the 2017 Caldecott Honor for They All Saw a Cat, provided a behind-the-scenes look at his newest book A Stone Sat Still in advance of his visit and demonstrated his amazing drawing skills during our live chat. He took recommendations from an audience of more than 60 students and drew more than 20 animals on a single sheet of paper during a speed round, including a panda, a sloth, a giraffe, and a unicorn!

Our Meet the Author lineup for 2020-2021 includes:

Elisha Cooper, Nov. 18
The Caldecott Honor winner’s new book River is an outstanding introduction to seeing the world through the eyes of a young explorer and a great picture book for the STEAM curriculum. Maps and information about the Hudson River and famous landmarks are included in the back of the book.

Jacqueline Woodson, December 2
The National Book Award winner’s latest, Harbor Me, celebrates the healing that can occur when a group of students share their stories.

Sophie Escabasse, December
The local author’s middle-grade graphic novel Witches of Brooklyn adventure is filled with magical hjinks for fans of Phoebe and Her Unicorn and Making Friends.

Daniel José Older, February 3
The New York Times bestselling author discusses his middle-grade historical fantasy series Dactyl Hill Squad.

Zetta Elliott, February/March 2021
The author of award-winning picture books Bird and Melena’s Jubilee touches on her powerful, affirming poem A Place Inside of Me and bewitching tale Dragons in a Bag.